Stuff the Bus!

0

 

 

 box

Help us Stuff the Bus by donating school supplies to fill our collection box at Goodyear Branch Library!

With the start of a new school year only weeks away, United Way of Summit County’s Young Leaders Society is working with partners throughout the county to help make sure students have the basic materials they need on the first day of class.

The “Stuff the Bus” school supply drive runs from now until August 30. Students in need who attend public schools in Summit County will benefit. Supplies will be accepted at collection points until Thursday, August 28th and will be picked up by Young Leaders Society volunteers and placed on an Akron Public Schools bus outside Canal Park during the game. The supplies will then be distributed to at-risk children across Summit County.

For more information or to volunteer contact Brian Berg at 330.643.5516 or bberg@uwsummit.org.

Donations can be dropped off at any Akron-Summit County Public Library location or United Way of Summit County, 90 North Prospect Street, Akron 44304 or brought to the Akron RubberDucks game on Thursday, August 30th.

General School Supplies Needed:

Glue Sticks*

Wide Ruled notebook paper

College-ruled notebook paper

Large Erasers

Pencil Sharpeners

Single subject spiral notebooks

Rulers with standard and metric units

#2 pencils with erasers

Tissues

Colored Pencils

Elementary

Safety scissors

Crayons*

Plastic School Boxes

Washable markers*

Middle/High School

Book Covers

Pocket Folders

Pens (blue or black ink)

Scissors

Three-ring binders

Pencil box or pouch

Protractors

Calculators

Index cards

*Should be labeled non-toxic by the manufacturer

Share

I Love the 90′s

0

July 16 @3:30 for ages 11 – 18

Have you ever played in a Tecmo Bowl tournament, tried your chances against King Koopa, or beat Dr. Robotnik?  This program will give you the opportunity to see what video gaming was like back in the 90’s.  While you wait for your turn on the games (because back in the day you had to take turns) design your own retro T-shirt that will be sure to turn heads with its classic cool look.

Please register for this program at 330-784-7522.

Share

Movie Matinee Wednesdays

0

Every other Wednesday this summer we are showing a movie!

Come to the library and cool down with a family movie and some popcorn.  This week we are showing:

Thank you to the Friends of Goodyear Library for sponsoring the popcorn and drinks!

 

Share

Preschool Play Time

0


blocks

Play helps young children learn skills needed for reading and writing.  At play time adults and children can make friends, share stories, create and play together.  Preschool Play Time is for young children and their favorite adults.  No registration is needed.

 

Friday June 20, July 18, August 15

12:30 – 1:30 pm

 

Goodyear Branch Library

60 Goodyear Blvd, Akron Ohio 44305 330-784-7522

Share

Paws For Reading

0

???????????????????????????????

Practice your reading skills by reading aloud to our doggie pals.  Bring a book from home or read one of ours!  Not reading yet?  Our dogs’ human pals will read to you.

 

This is a great way for children to practice their literacy skills and gain more confidence in reading aloud.  Children of all ages are welcome.  No registration is needed.

 

Monday June 23 and July 21 at 1 pm

 

Goodyear Branch Library

60 Goodyear Blvd, Akron Ohio 44305 330-784-7522

 

Share

Like dust, I’ll rise

0

Today we learned that wonderful poet, author and political activist Maya Angelou has passed away at age 86.

Born in 1928 as Marguerite Johnson, Angelou made her mark on the literary community in 1969 with her autobiographical I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. The book was a groundbreaking work on the effects of racism, abuse, sexism and socioeconomic challenges on a maturing young girl.

Angelou was heavily involved in the Civil Rights Movement and her literary talents opened many doors for female and minority authors. A talented, nuanced and extraordinary person, Angelou will long be remembered.

Maya Angelou published a vast array of plays, poems, essays and memoirs throughout her life. Her work is available throughout the Akron-Summit County Public Library system. Visit our Main Library or one of our branches to reserve copies of her books today.

 

Share

April Poetry Contest Winners

0

Congratulations to the winners of our Poetry Contest.  In April, grades K-12 were asked to write a poem about anything they would like.  After reading lots of wonderful poems, here are the winners we picked!

 

Grades K-1

No entries

Grades 2-3

Winner: My Cat by Jade B.

Grades 4-5

Winner: Pool by Natilee O.

Honorable Mentions: Reptiles by J’Amontai T. and By Shanya M.

Grade 6

Winner: I Am by Mirgita C.

Honorable Mentions: I Am by Marlon L. , By Kayla K. , Today! by Jeremiah A. , I Am by Elijah J. , I Am by Jacob W. and I Am by Lanyia W.

Grades 7-12

No entries

Share

New Books in May

0

Romance

  Notorious in the West by Lisa Plumley

Set in 1872, Plumley’s newest romance sets witty Olivia Mouton against brooding, ruthless Griffin Turner.

 

 

  Make You Mine by Macy Beckett

According to local lore, the Dumont family was hexed. At least, that’s the excuse the locals give for their favorite family of bachelors. All of this changes when Allie Mauvais shows up and decides to prove magic that strong just doesn’t exist.

Non-Fiction

  Vintage Crafts by Clara Lidstrom

Rethink old furniture, discarded  tins and fading clothes in this clever reworking of old favorites.

 

 

  The Perfect Resume: Resumes That Work in This Economy by Dan Quillen

Quillen’s book investigates what employers are looking for in the present economy and highlights ways to showcase your strengths and job experience in an eye-catching way.

Mystery

  The Man Who Smiled by Henning Mankell

Disillusioned with police work, Kurt Wallander considers giving up his life’s profession. But before he resigns, two consecutive murders catch his attention.

Inspirational

  Thankful by Shelley Shepard Gray

The second book in Gray’s Return to Sugarcreek series finds Christina Kempf and Aden Reese hopelessly in love with one another and unable to admit it.

Black Fiction

  Push by Sapphire

A modern classic, Push tells the story of Precious Jones. Illiterate and abused, Precious catches the attention of a teacher who decides to help her regain control over her life.

 

 

  The Prodigal Son by Kimberla Lawson Roby

A family drama, Roby’s newest book charts the course of a family on diverging paths, trying to reunite but kept apart by secrets and choices.

Fiction

  The Kill Switch by James Rollins & Grant Blackwood

Tucker Wayne returns in his own series in this suspense thriller. Set across the eastern hemisphere, Wayne must prevent the world from dissolving into disease and war.

 

 

  The Skin Collector by Jeffery Deaver

A follow-up of sorts to The Bone Collector, Deaver’s new Lincoln Rhyme novel introduces a killer obsessed with tattooing his victims with poisonous ink.

 

 

Share

Step into Spring with these New Titles

0

Spring may have arrived on the calendar, but these blustery March days have left us craving a blanket, a book, and a spot on the couch. Relax with some of Goodyear’s newest titles and let the winds roar.

  1.) Mastering the Art of Quitting: Why It Matters in Life, Love, and Work by Peg Streep and Alan B. Bernstein, LCSW

Streep and Bernstein’s nonfiction work details the highlights of quitting, arguing that the word has too many negative connotations. The pair asserts that knowing when to quit causes a much-needed revaluation of life goals and helps people move forward.

  2.) Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard

For fans of Science Fiction, Leonard’s first novel brings a welcome burst of rejuvenation to a much-loved genre. Set in the imaginary kingdom of Caithen, Moth and Spark meshes political intrigue and mystery against a seemingly impossible love story.

  3.) By Blood We Live by Glen Duncan

Sequel to the books The Last Werewolf and Talulla Rising, By Blood We Live is the final installment in Duncan’s epic trilogy about the last war between vampires and werewolves.

  4.) Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah

Beah is most famous for his brilliant and excruciating 2007 memoir, A Long Way Gone. His latest book, a work of fiction, follows two friends, Benjamin and Bockarie, as they attempt to reconstruct their town in the aftermath of a civil war.

  5.) The Black-Eyed Blonde by Benjamin Black

Philip Marlowe returns in this estate-authorized novel featuring the most hard-boiled of all hard-boiled detectives. What begins as a simple missing persons case soon becomes a murderous journey through the corporate halls of the rich elite. Black’s Marlowe has fewer rough edges than Raymond Chandler’s enigmatic detective, but the story has all of the grit of a Chandler classic.

  6.) My Name is Resolute by Nancy E. Turner

Turner, author of These Is My Words, has crafted a dangerous yet beautiful chronicle of one young girl’s journey through pre-Revolutionary America.

  7.) Green Eye Bandit 2 by Ni’kia Nichols

In this follow-up to Nichols’ Green Eye Bandit, heroine Tina Martin slips out of police custody to enact her own revenge. Unfortunately, what seemed easy on the surface soon turns complicated as Tina discovers new angles to a mystery she thought long solved.

All of these books are available in the Akron-Summit County Public Library system. Click on the title or contact us to put your copy on hold today!

Share

New Children’s and Teen Books In the Library This Week

0

 

Click on the titles below to see them in our catalog and place a hold.

Teen Books

                    

 

Children’s Books

Young Children

                        

Readers and Chapter Books

                                  

Nonfiction

              

Share