Step into Spring with these New Titles

0

Spring may have arrived on the calendar, but these blustery March days have left us craving a blanket, a book, and a spot on the couch. Relax with some of Goodyear’s newest titles and let the winds roar.

  1.) Mastering the Art of Quitting: Why It Matters in Life, Love, and Work by Peg Streep and Alan B. Bernstein, LCSW

Streep and Bernstein’s nonfiction work details the highlights of quitting, arguing that the word has too many negative connotations. The pair asserts that knowing when to quit causes a much-needed revaluation of life goals and helps people move forward.

  2.) Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard

For fans of Science Fiction, Leonard’s first novel brings a welcome burst of rejuvenation to a much-loved genre. Set in the imaginary kingdom of Caithen, Moth and Spark meshes political intrigue and mystery against a seemingly impossible love story.

  3.) By Blood We Live by Glen Duncan

Sequel to the books The Last Werewolf and Talulla Rising, By Blood We Live is the final installment in Duncan’s epic trilogy about the last war between vampires and werewolves.

  4.) Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah

Beah is most famous for his brilliant and excruciating 2007 memoir, A Long Way Gone. His latest book, a work of fiction, follows two friends, Benjamin and Bockarie, as they attempt to reconstruct their town in the aftermath of a civil war.

  5.) The Black-Eyed Blonde by Benjamin Black

Philip Marlowe returns in this estate-authorized novel featuring the most hard-boiled of all hard-boiled detectives. What begins as a simple missing persons case soon becomes a murderous journey through the corporate halls of the rich elite. Black’s Marlowe has fewer rough edges than Raymond Chandler’s enigmatic detective, but the story has all of the grit of a Chandler classic.

  6.) My Name is Resolute by Nancy E. Turner

Turner, author of These Is My Words, has crafted a dangerous yet beautiful chronicle of one young girl’s journey through pre-Revolutionary America.

  7.) Green Eye Bandit 2 by Ni’kia Nichols

In this follow-up to Nichols’ Green Eye Bandit, heroine Tina Martin slips out of police custody to enact her own revenge. Unfortunately, what seemed easy on the surface soon turns complicated as Tina discovers new angles to a mystery she thought long solved.

All of these books are available in the Akron-Summit County Public Library system. Click on the title or contact us to put your copy on hold today!

Share

New Children’s and Teen Books In the Library This Week

0

 

Click on the titles below to see them in our catalog and place a hold.

Teen Books

                    

 

Children’s Books

Young Children

                        

Readers and Chapter Books

                                  

Nonfiction

              

Share

New Teen + Children’s Books at the Library This Week

0

Teen Books

                                          

Children’s Books

                                      

  

Share

January Writing Contest Winners

0

Congratulations to the winners of our Writing Contest.  In January, grades K-12 were asked to write about something beautiful.  It could be a person, place, thing, a feeling or an action – anything that you think is beautiful.  After reading lots of wonderful, touching stories, here are the winners we picked!

Grades K-1: 

No entries

Grades 2-3

Winner: Some Place Beautiful by Sophia

Honorable Mention: Someone Beautiful by Robert

 

Grades 4-6

Winner: Someone That is Beautiful by Somer

Honorable Mentions: A Beautiful Treasure by LaShay

 

Grades 7-8

Winner: My Beautiful Feeling by Krysta

Honorable Mention: The Most Beautiful Thing by Yahna

 

Grades 9-12

Winner: Catching The Stars by Toria

Share

This Week at the Library

0

 

Children’s Programs

Jitterbugs Story Time

Thursdays, 10:15 am, January 9 – February 27

Move, sing and learn with music and stories for 25 minutes of fun for young children.  Then time to enjoy some free play together.


Family Fun Saturday – Make a Bird Feeder

Feed the birds this winter with a bird feeder made from recycled materials.

 

Teen Programs

Magnets, Magnets, Magnets

Who doesn’t love magnets?  Now’s your chance to make marble magnets, magnetic clips, magnetic notepads, picture magnets and more: decorate your locker, your fridge and anything else that’s magnetic.

Adult Programs

 Crochet with Penny

Mondays, 6:30 – 8 pm

Learning to crochet?  Already know how, but want to work on a project and gab with some fun people?  Knitters, needle workers, or just gabbers welcome!  Beginners please bring a crochet hook.

Book discussion, Movies, and Munchies

Wednesday, January 15, 12 pm

Bring a potluck and watch a film related to the book discussion.

 

Share

Reduced hours begin Monday, January 6

0

Our reduced hours become effective Monday, January 6.
Here they are for your convenience:

Branch Library Hours of Operation
Monday – Tuesday – Thursday: 10 am – 8 pm
Wednesday – Friday: 12 pm – 6 pm
Saturday: 10 am – 5 pm
Sunday: Closed

Main Library Hours of Operation
Monday – Thursday: 10 am – 8 pm
Friday: 10 am – 6 pm
Saturday: 10 am – 5 pm
Sunday: 1 pm – 5 pm

Program times may have changed so we encourage you to call the branch library before attending.

Share

New Children’s Books at the Library This Week

0

Click on the titles below to see them in our catalog.

  

Children’s Books:

                                                          

Teen Books:

      

Share

This Week at the Library

0

Children’s Programs

Jitterbugs Story Time

Thursdays, 10:15 am, December 5 – 19, January 9 – February 27

Move, sing and learn with music and stories for 25 minutes of fun for young children.  Then time to enjoy some free play together.

Make and Take Monday

Monday December 2 – popsicle stick snowman

Stop in the library, pick up one of our simple kids craft kits and take it home with you!  (while supplies last)

Gumdrop Engineering

Tuesday, December 3, 4 – 5 pm, Grades K – 5

Enjoy some sweet treats and make some shapes with toothpicks, marshmallows, and gumdrops.  How big a tower can you make?

 

Adult Programs

 Crochet with Penny

Mondays, 6:30 – 8 pm

Learning to crochet?  Already know how, but want to work on a project and gab with some fun people?  Knitters, needle workers, or just gabbers welcome!  Beginners please bring a crochet hook.

Wine Bottle Decorating

Wednesday, December 4, 6:30 pm

Don’t you just love Christmas lights?  Well come on out and join us as we create beautifully decorated twinkling wine bottles that will light up any room.  Please sign up for this program by calling the library at 330-784-7522.

 

Share

New Books at the Library This Week

0

Click on the titles below to see them in our catalog

New Adult Books:

  

      

 

New Teen Books:

  

 

New Children’s Books:

             

        

  

 

Share

Thanksgiving Books for Children

0

Here are some new Thanksgiving books and some classics.

Click on the titles below to see them in our catalog.

                    

Share